Junior Reader

Jedi Quest #1: The Way of the Apprentice

Jude Watson
Apr 23, 2002
Artwork by
Narrated by
Takes place in
28 BBY
In the
Rise of the Sith
Part of Jude Watson’s massive series of Star Wars books published by Scholastic, the Way of the Apprentice begins a ten-book series about Obi-Wan Kenobi training Anakin Skywalker (Jedi Quest: Path to Truth is not a numbered entry in the series, it should probably be considered book 1). Although marketed for young readers, these easily digestible stories are certainly worth anyone’s time. Watson develops an assortment of side characters across her multiple series, the star of whom is Obi-Wan’s Jedi friend and rival, Siri Tachi. She also does a masterful job in creating unique planets, cultures, species, and plots in each book with an overarching villain making repeated appearances throughout. Although it would be helpful to read the Jedi Apprentice series before Jedi Quest, it isn’t necessary in order to dive into Jedi Quest. Audiobooks are available for the first four books in the series.

Publisher's Summary

This first volume in the Jedi Quest series begins an adventure that takes place between Episode I: The Phantom Menace and Episode II: Attack of the Clones. Strong in the ways of the Force, fourteen-year-old Anakin Skywalker is an ideal Jedi apprentice. But despite his legendary piloting and lightsaber skills, he has much to learn from Jedi Master Obi-Wan Kenobi. When Obi-Wan and Anakin are separated during a mission, Anakin and the other apprentices—including his rival—must work together to survive.

Other Books in this Series

Our Verdict

Video Review

No items found.

Community Reviews

Roundtables & Related Videos

No items found.

Collections that Feature this Book

Post Tags:
No items found.
View All
By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.